Ala is a striking village of Val d’Ala, surrounded by green meadows and thick woods, with characteristic scenic spots. One of these is just after a short tunnel in the rock wall, driving up from the valley bottom, from where Bessanese, Uja di Mondrone and Monte Rosso offer a stunning view. On the 1400 Casa della Dogana (Duty House) the Savoy coat of arms and friezes have been restored. The parish church, although rebuilt in 1727, preserves the 1300 bell tower. On many facades of the houses surrounding the village center are frescoes and sundials, some of which dating from the late 1500, object of historical-cultural visits.
This characteristic has allowed making Ala di Stura known as the “Sundials and Frescoes Village”. As a matter of fact, including the village center and the surrounding hamlets, it is possible to number about 76 sundials, the highest collection in Italy and Europe, for a total of 7 different thematic itineraries. Some of the sundials built in the late XIXth century, together with frescoes and rock engravings have an old particular lure.
From 1872, due to the road construction that connected Ala to Ceres, the village quickly asserted itself as resort place of international reputation. For this reason, as from 1890 the Town Hall activated a telegraphic service and, ten years later, the village was provided with electric light.